Web Content Display Web Content Display

National Standards System (NSS)

The National Standards System is the network of organizations and individuals involved in voluntary standards development, promotion and implementation in Canada. Under the Standards Council of Canada Act, the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) is mandated with overseeing the National Standards System.

Graphic representation of the National Standards System (377 Kb)

For more than 25 years, the National Standards System has helped to ensure the safety and performance of products and services. It has also helped to open the global marketplace to Canadians, and made Canada a leader in international standardization.

More than 15,000 Canadian members contribute to committees that develop national or international standards.

As well, more than 400 organizations have been accredited by SCC. Types of accredited organizations include:

  • Standards development organizations;
  • Certification organizations;
  • Testing and calibration laboratories;
  • Quality management systems registration organizations;
  • Inspection bodies; and
  • Environmental management systems registration bodies.